Two Recommended Study Bibles

As a preacher, I collect Bibles. Of the several dozen I own, my two favorite study/reference Bibles would have to include the Newberry Reference Bible and the Companion Bible.

The Newberry is from Thomas Newberry, a “Plymouth” Brethren. His is not a reference Bible full of explanatory notes but is a grammatical reference Bible. He has a system of symbols to indicate verbal tenses and other grammatical notes from the Greek and Hebrew that might be lost on the English reader. Newberry may not have been as strong a supporter of the KJV (not as many were in the 19th century as we would have liked) but his work is still of immense value. I also like it because I have always appreciated the Brethren, even though I disagree with them on several important points. I have two copies of Newberry, one purchased from the Sword of the Lord, the other bought from a Brethren bookstore in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia.

My second choice is the Companion Bible, edited by E. W. Bullinger. There is just a wealth on information here, especially in the appendixes.

I also do appreciate the old standard Thompson Chain Reference. I never got much out of the MacArthur Reference Bible (would it kill you to at least offer it in the KJV or does MacArthur hate the KJV that much?) or the Scofield. I think I was one of the few Fundamentalists who never really recommended it, as it attacks the King James renderings in too many places (notably in 2 Thessalonians 2).

Comments are closed.